Physical Fitness

When I think of physical fitness and I think of those work out commercials that we see on TV. You know the ones. Where the size 3 ripped model is totally working out and telling you that you can look like her if you buy their dvd, equipment or whatever they are peddling. I want to say really? I’m going to look like you when I get done? I get to be a blonde hair, blue eyed, 5 ft. 6in tanned model? Where do I sign up. I am so totally in.

No matter how hard I diet, or hoGroup of young woman exercisingw much I work out I will never look like that. Do you know why? Well number one I am nowhere near 5’6” tall. In fact I am barely 5’2”. I can dye my hair blonde but my eyes will remain hazel because I hate the ideas of contacts and refuse to by them. Plus I don’t tan. At least not how many of my friends tan. I will remain white as snow and in the summer tan maybe a nice creamy off white. Smile 

My other problem is:  I like food. Food is good. God made food for us and our pleasure. No I am not eating all the time. I just like good food. My favorite holiday is Thanksgiving for crying out loud and not for all the pies. I love the Turkey, stuffing, gravy and green bean casserole. Right now I am seriously craving crab rolls. For a whole week its been crab rolls. I don’t know why but it just has. Don’t you love those unexplained cravings? The ones that don’t go away until you get what you are craving.

I am active. I’m on my feet all day. I want to lose another 15 pounds and its been the hardest 15 pounds that I have tried to lose. I’m not a size 3. I was once. I was a size 3 on my wedding day. In fact I weighed a whole 97 lbs. Crazy, huh? I won’t ever be a size 3 again. These mommy hips just won’t let me. I’m not out of shape. I’m in pretty good shape considering I have had three children and have lost 25 pounds already.  So I am getting to where I want to be.

The one thing I wish those commercials would show is real people who are in good physical condition and not just show the paid actors/actresses who they tell us what we should look like.  They wonder why we have such a HUGE issue with our looks? Seriously, these commercials are not helping. I am totally for getting in good physical condition but I am so totally against people who say we should all look like these cookie cutter people. 90% of the population of this world does NOT nor will EVER look like the people they pick for these commercials.

Let’s see some REAL people with REAL bodies showing their REAL results please.

Ok, I’m off my soapbox now. Comments?