Books · Fiction · Reviews

The Returning by Rachelle Dekker review

I am so very excited that today is release day for the final chapter in the Seer’s Trilogy. I’ve waited too long to share this review with you. But now I can. Yay!!!!! Rachelle Dekker has become a new favorite author and I will say she earned that place with her well written stories. Anyway, here is a little bit about the book.

Twenty years have passed since Carrington and Remko Brant’s baby, Elise, was 978-1-4964-0229-5kidnapped and they were forced to leave her captive in the Authority City. Though they fled with the Seers far from Authority reach, they’ve never given up hope of rescuing their daughter from the man who betrayed them. Now Authority President, he’s ushered the city into a new era of “peace”–one where the Scientist Roth Reynard’s Genesis Serum has eradicated all memory of emotion or rebellion.But the mysterious Aaron and his Seers are once again on the move, threatening the illusion the Authority has worked so hard to build. As the Seers send seven chosen warriors to rescue Elise and bring restoration to the Authority City, the lines are drawn for a final battle between light and darkness. The key to ultimate victory may rest within the strangely powerful girl who has felt forgotten but was never abandoned–a truth she’ll need to wage war against the powerful forces of evil.

I was so thrilled to pick up where everything left off from The Calling. Yet I start in and quite a bit of time has now passed. Of course, it makes perfect sense why it happened this way. The story sucks you in from the get-go and I really had a hard time putting it down. I read the whole book in a 24 hour period. I’m not kidding it was that good. Not that I sat there for 24 straight hours as I have kids and I did have to feed them. But, I was able to pick up an hour or so here and there to read this story. My husband was kind enough not to bug me as he knew I had been waiting for this book for a long time. We have a pretty good thing going. 🙂

The story is amazing and the perfect conclusion to this trilogy. As you read you can literally see the story play out in your head, as if you were watching it on a movie screen. I’m telling you this series would make an awesome movie trilogy but only IF they can keep everything as it is written. I have been completely taken with Rachelle’s writing that I really hope she continues to write more stories.

You can pick up this series at most book retailers. Or by checking out the publisher’s site.

pic_full_dekker_rachelleAbout the author: The oldest daughter of New York Times bestselling author Ted Dekker, Rachelle Dekker was inspired early on to discover truth through the avenue of storytelling. She graduated with a degree in communications and spent several years in marketing and corporate recruiting before making the transition to write full-time. She lives in Nashville with her husband, Daniel, and their diva cat, Blair.

Here is a little Q & A from the author to give you a little more insight into the book.

 

Set the scene for The Returning. What has happened since The Calling ended?

Well, it’s been nearly 20 years, and the world has changed. I don’t want to give too much away for those who haven’t read the first two, so I’ll just say the world is very different and much more dangerous than it once was. But something is brewing under the surface. Change is coming, and people know it.

The Returning focuses on Carrington and Remko’s daughter Elise. Tell us more about Elise’s character and her growth throughout the book.

Elise starts the book in a pretty dark place. She grew up without parents, believing she was abandoned, only to discover there’s an entire world that has been kept from her. Her journey can be divided into two parts, in my opinion: first, learning who she really is; and second, learning how to live that out. It’s the same journey we all take, and I believe that makes her pretty relatable.

The theme of identity is explored in all three Seer books. How does forgiveness relate to identity?

For me, forgiveness is more about the one who feels wronged than the one who committed the wrong. What if, for a moment, you believed that nothing could harm you? That you, as a believer, are seated at the Father’s table and standing with him? Can anything harm the Father? If you believe no, then can anything harm you—the true you, the true spirited self? So then, forgiveness becomes more about letting go of false belief and stepping into the true identity that the Father gave to you. I know it’s radical, but belief like that could change the world, don’t you think?

I hope you have enjoyed this review and you should definitely pick up this trilogy.

 

2 thoughts on “The Returning by Rachelle Dekker review

Comments are closed.