Faith · From the Archives

What’s a Christian To You? (From the Archives)

From the ArchivesHere’s another oldie but goodie for you.  From way back in November 2008.

I’ve thought about this a lot lately. The term Christian is used in a variety of ways today. People use it to refer to their religious beliefs, or the fact that their parents are members of a church somewhere. However, it is a term that is being used lightly.

Christian in the Webster’s dictionary means: “one who professes belief in the teachings of Jesus Christ”. So if you profess in the belief of the teachings of Jesus Christ then you believe the Bible and that things in the Bible are true. Jesus told us to follow his teachings. His teachings are very clear. He tells us to study the Word. He tells us to do what the Word says. It is our road map and guide book for our lives. The principles taught in the Bible are still to be upheld today. There have been many subjects raised recently that make me wonder how someone can be a Christian yet still believe that these sinful things they are doing are ok. Yet when you confront them about this they get defensive. You know why they get defensive? It’s because they know they are wrong but they’ve allowed the immoral ways of the modern world affect their decision. They are allowing themselves to believe what the majority believes because they don’t want to stand up and be different. They don’t want to be made fun of. 

It reminds me of high school. You’ve got your “IN” crowd and everyone else is on the outside, wondering what its like to be included. Well unfortunately the “IN” crowd is the WRONG crowd to get involved in.  I’m not afraid of being on the outside of the popular group. You know why? I’ve done this my whole life. I was always the unpopular kid in school. Even some of the kids at church didn’t want me around. Apparently I was to good for them. I was to “innocent” because I didn’t just do things because my friends did it. You know, I don’t care. As a kid I did. I cared a lot. But I also cared about how my parents viewed me and how hard they worked at trying to keep me pure and teach me to love and follow God with my whole heart. I am so thankful to have grown up in the home that I did. So very blessed. 

Being a Christian isn’t about being in the IN crowd. It’s about doing your best to follow God’s Word and His teachings and allowing Him to guide your life. It’s not about being perfect. It’s not about who is more righteous than me or who is more holier than thou. It’s about loving people and showing them the truth of God’s Word. It’s about reaching people for Him even when it goes against the grain. You may get called names, you may become the outcast for a while.  But God is good and he will help you through it and NEVER leaves you nor forsakes you. 

Being a Christian is not about skin color or gender. It’s not about being too young or to old. It’s about God’s love for you. It’s about the fact that a man, who never met you on this earth, willingly died on the cross for your sins. It’s about a loving God that loves us so much that he gave us freewill to make our own choices. I mean what is love if you are MADE to love someone? God loved us so much that he allows us to make our own decisions even when he knows they may not be the best for us. He loves us so much that he wants us to choose for our selves to love Him. He has given us the way to do that and that is through His son Jesus Christ.  Romans 10:9 & 10 (NLT) says

9 If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved.

Then my favorite is the AMP  which says:

9Because if you acknowledge and confess with your lips that Jesus is Lord and in your heart believe (adhere to, trust in, and rely on the truth) that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.
10For with the heart a person believes (adheres to, trusts in, and relies on Christ) and so is justified (declared righteous, acceptable to God), and with the mouth he confesses (declares openly and speaks out freely his faith) and confirms [his] salvation.

So let me ask you this question. What is a Christian to you?

If you would like to ask Jesus to be your Lord and Savior click here.

Please feel free to respond to the question in the comments or you can email them to me by clicking here.

