Family · Field Trips · Homeschool · Life · Tennessee

Family Time @ the Knoxville Zoo

When you have a family you are always looking for ways to enjoy some time together that won’t break the bank. Normally a Zoo trip will cost close to $100 for a family of 5. But this past weekend we were able to go for $5. You heard me right. It was Dollar Days at the Knoxville Zoo. On this type of event you have to purchase tickets ahead of time so a few weeks back my hubby sends me a text asking if I would like to go to the Zoo.  For that price I would have been stupid to pass it up. So I said yes but the hard part was we couldn’t go Friday or Saturday due to previous engagements that had been made so what did we do? We skipped church and got our tickets for Sunday, shhhhhh don’t tell anyone. 

This was my first time at the Knoxville Zoo since I was in 2nd grade.  Let me just say, I didn’t remember it at all. Honestly, the only thing I remembered from that trip was the bus ride to the Zoo because I sat with my best friend for that year, Beatrice. She was an adorable little red haired girl.  Anyway, we had a really good time.  Because it was cold (since its November and decided this past week that it would finally feel like November) many of the tropical animals were not on exhibit. However, some of our favorites still were.  I love watching animals play and interact with each other. Because we went early in the morning, due to the fact that this event was sold out and we didn’t want to be in the late crowd leaving, some of the normally really active animals were less than active.  But its ok, the kids still had a great time and we got to enjoy some animals that we didn’t get to see at our old hometown Zoo back in South Carolina.

003015

I think the next time I go I would like to go when it is warmer and on a less busy day so that we can really stop and look and learn.  But for the most part it was the time spent with my family that I loved the most. Listening to Boo laugh at the River Otters because one decided to show off for her. We loved our time at the Zoo and looking forward to enjoying it again when its warmer.

032056

078079

Now that I have shared our weekend adventure I’m going to do a shameless promotional plug.  You know, because the holidays are coming up and because I can since its my site.  ha ha ha.

For those of you who don’t know. I started creating some super simple downloadable and printable Homeschool Flash Cards to help supplement your educational journey.  I sell these exclusively at CurrClick.

Currently up for grabs are the following 3 products:

NEW state flash coverNEW art style flash cover newNEW Important Dates Flash Cover NOW

You should definitely head over and check them out.

Also keep in mind my book is available for purchase in both print and eBook formats.  This would make an awesome stocking stuffer and you can pick that up at Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Family Time @ the Knoxville Zoo

Comments are closed.