Family · Life

Savor the Little Moments

The word “savor” has been on my mind a lot lately.

Merriam-Webster defines savor:

1:  the taste or smell of something

2:  a particular flavor or smell

3:  a distinctive quality

As I have been thinking about this word and all the things it could mean, the last part of the definition really sticks to me. For me the word savor isn’t just pertaining to food or scents. It pertains to life itself. The little moments that slip by all too often without thought. Later you look back with regret wishing you had enjoyed that time more. Had been more present in the moment. Of course we can not go back in time. But we can move forward.

I’ve decided to intentionally live life in the present. Be here for the here and now for my kids, my husband, my friends and family. Try to enjoy the moment I’m in all the while working toward the goals I want to achieve. Sometimes we get so focused on where we want to go we forget about the joys that are in the little moments of every single day. 

I want to enjoy the cuddle times with my youngest because I know there are not too many left. Before long she will be grown up and no longer desire that time with me. I want to savor the belly laughs with my middle child. I want to memorize the girl talks I share with my oldest. And I want to always remember the feel of holding my husbands hand and the fluttering of my heart when he looks at me in that special way. I don’t want to take these times and moments for granted.

There are already times I look back with regret. Times that I have missed with my girls because I was in too big of a hurry to get them in bed so I could get some alone time for myself.  The times I have gotten up in the morning only to quickly look forward to bedtime because we were having such a tough day. Times that I hurried through because in my mind I thought I had all the time in the world to enjoy those moments later.

As a mom let me just say, those times have already flown by and as much as I have enjoyed many of our days together there were others I wish I had had someone to remind me that these days would not last. So from experience let me just remind you to savor the little moments. They will be over way too soon.

