Around the House · Do It Yourself Project · Fashion · Holidays · Home

A Little Bit of a Re-fashion

Since I’m not working outside of the home anymore I’ve had a little bit of time to work on some projects that I have had to put on hold for a while. Last week I pulled out and dusted off the old sewing machine. It’s an old sewing machine but still works. It’s the very same one my mom had when I was growing up and made many outfits, curtains and so much more on. I even learned to sew on this machine as well as paid for sewing lessons and this sweet little ladies house. She had a whole trailer set up for just her sewing. That is when I fell in love with the serger. I loved how professional it made the finished edges look. Of course back then I couldn’t sew a straight line for nothing. I’m certainly much better now but a little out of practice since it had been so long. 001

Anyway, back to my story…. I pulled out the sewing machine, dusted it off and oiled it up and ran through some practice pieces. Then I put together this project I wanted to do. I had been given some clothes from a friend and co-worker and saw this dress. I loved the pattern on it and the shape. However, it has just been hanging in my closet. Why? Because it’s a halter. I just don’t like how the halter part fit on me. So I decided I would make it into a skirt for our upcoming Christmas in November luncheon. It took all of an hour to get it done and now I have an adorable skirt.

009

Another friend suggested a cute little red sweater and some red heels to make it really cute, classic and ready for the holidays. So I guess I’m off to find a cute sweater and some red heels. Oh well a good excuse to get a couple new things and I’ll be ready for some holiday parties. Who wants to go shopping?

