Life · Photography · Tennessee

Hiking in East TN and other stuff

I love where we live now. The beauty of the mountains are right outside my window and the Great Smokey Mountains park is about an hour drive from me. You know what that means? It means hiking more is what we are doing. That is one of our family’s favorite past times. Over the past few weeks since I am home full time again we have taken the opportunity to do more stuff with friends and even just with the five of us to be a family. We used to do it all the time and then our situation dictated that a change needed to be made and so, certain things had to be put on the back burner. But God opened the door for us to start becoming more active again. And I must say, I have missed this time with my family and friends.

040

This past weekend we went hiking at the Laurel Falls trail in the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. It was beautiful. First off let me say that its going to take some time for us to get back into hiking shape so we started with a shorter trail. It’s a 2.5 mile hike. It was invigorating. Seeing the gorgeous mountain views was breath taking. In a few weeks those same views will be full of fall color.  I can’t wait to go back and get more photo’s then. The falls was really pretty and Andy saw the back side of a bear as he was walking up the trail away from us. The kids and I didn’t see it but our friend and his son did.

020

We spent the day hiking with some dear friends and then had a relaxing picnic lunch grilling at one of the beautiful picnic areas next to the water. It was so much fun. I forgot how much fun it was to relax and just enjoy fellowship with brothers and sisters in Christ. These are the times that refresh the body and soul.

031

Boo enjoyed a sleep over with our friends daughter and the other two came home with us and we had a relaxing evening at home. Geek Girl passed out in the car. I can’t say that I didn’t blame her because I was ready to do the same.

026

I hope you enjoy the photos from our weekend get away and if you want to see what else is up with us you can follow me on instagram. Where I post pictures of our family adventures, inspirations and lots more fun stuff.  I also got my hubby hooked on instagram. Head over to his profile and let him know I sent you.

And remember you can pick up your very own copy of my devotional book Simple Devotions for Women.  It would make a great stocking stuffer for all the ladies in your life.

