Curriculum · Homeschool

Home Economics and Your Help

My oldest two daughters are in high school this fall. GeekGirl is going into 10th grade and Princess will be in 9th. It’s really hard to believe the time has just flown by  since we started blogging back in 2006 when I was in my second year of homeschooling GeekGirl (1st grade) and Princess (K-5). My youngest, Boo, was only 1.5 yrs old and it seems like such a long time ago.

This journey has been a good one and each year as we evaluate how our school has gone and what we should do in the coming year I still can not deny that I love homeschooling. The years have not always been easy and we have had to overcome some obstacles but with the grace of God we have done it and will continue to do it.

As I have stated the older two are in high-school and as I see young women on a daily basis go off on their own whether moving out to become independent adults or getting married, they are lacking the skills that used to be taught in the home by their mother’s and even the basics taught in a home economics class in school. Our society is not teaching this anymore. In fact whether or not you decide you want to be a stay at home mom or you want to work outside the home all women (and men) should learn basic housekeeping and bookkeeping skills.

Because of this lack of skills being taught today I decided I wanted my girls to know how to manage a home. So I am developing a home economics program for them and others to use to teach their kids to be able to live an independent life.

Here is where you come in.  I have put together a survey to get an idea of the top two things that you wish you had known when you moved out or got married. If you wouldn’t mind filling this survey out I would greatly appreciate it. Also at the end I will be giving you the opportunity to sign up to receive updates on the Home Economics curriculum as I develop it.

Thank you all so much for your time and your input.

 

3 thoughts on “Home Economics and Your Help

  1. You are so right. It seems the young people now are more concerned about looking good than managing their lives and running a home. Sad. There’s still hope though.

    Thanks for this initiative. I believe lots of people would benefit from this.

    Like

Comments are closed.