Books · Non-Fiction · Reviews

Supermarket Healthy Review

Supermarket Healthy9780307985170

Food Network star and New York Times bestselling author Melissa d’Arabian proves that healthy eating at home is easy, achievable, and affordable.
Everyone wants to feel good about what they are eating, serving guests, and feeding their families, but most of us don’t do our weekly shopping at pricey specialty stores– we do it at the local supermarket and we don’t want it to break the bank. In her second book, Melissa demystifies the task of preparing nutritious and delicious food by showing exactly how you can make your grocery store work for you. She offers helpful strategies for shopping, cooking, and entertaining, as well as meal blueprints and nutritional information throughout. This book will make you confident about the food you’re buying, preparing, and eating.

My Review:

I found this book to be helpful and full of ideas. Of course as the mom of kids that are more into the mac-n-cheese and pizza pallet of taste we are starting to branch out a bit more. What I really loved about this book as that some of the recipes contain what she calls a “blueprint” which breaks down the recipe so you can adjust it to your families needs, tastes or likes.  Those are the recipes I’m anxious to try out the most.

I loved the whole layout of this book she divided it up in an easy to find format. I love the pictures that are attached to some of the recipes and I wish all of them had pictures to go with them because I like seeing how a recipe is supposed to look.  Overall I think this is a great little book to help you to learn how to use your local grocery store/farmers markets to cook healthy on a budget.

You can purchase a copy of this book via Amazon for $19.68.

