Faith · The Women of Christmas

Women of Christmas: Keep Silence

We started earlier this week in Chapter 1 building the foundation of Elizabeth’s story.  In chapter 2 “Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence” her story continues.

 

19 The angel said to him, “I am Gabriel. I stand in the presence of God, and I have been sent to speak to you and to tell you this good news. 20 And now you will be silent and not able to speak until the day this happens, because you did not believe my words, which will come true at their appointed time.”

21 Meanwhile, the people were waiting for Zechariah and wondering why he stayed so long in the temple. 22 When he came out, he could not speak to them. They realized he had seen a vision in the temple, for he kept making signs to them but remained unable to speak.

23 When his time of service was completed, he returned home. 24 After this his wife Elizabeth became pregnant and for five months remained in seclusion. 25 “The Lord has done this for me,” she said. “In these days he has shown his favor and taken away my disgrace among the people.” (Luke 1:19-25 NIV)

It makes me wonder how Elizabeth was able to believe so easily and accept so willingly what her husband was able to communicate to her with signs and possibly writing down what happened. But she did.

In Luke 1:19-25 we see what happens after the news has been shared with her and her reaction to it.  I personally believe that silence can sometimes be the difference in whether or not we prevent God’s plans from taking place in our lives.  Like I said in the last post this plan was so important that God needed to ensure that it would happen as it needed to and was able to prevent Zechariah from speaking doubt and unbelief.

We also see in this chapter that Elizabeth’s son had to be born at the right time. He had to become the voice crying in the wilderness that prepared the people for the messiah.  So God had a plan that Elizabeth didn’t even know about or understand at the time. WOC ch 2

Elizabeth had a way of keeping quiet. I don’t know that I would have been able to keep my mouth shut once I found out that I was having a baby. New mom’s want to share this news with the world. They have a certain glow about them and just can’t help it. Maybe that is why Elizabeth went in to seclusion for five months. Again I think I would have gone crazy hiding away for that long.  I would have wanted to plan with my friends and get advice and prepare for the coming baby. And maybe Elizabeth did in her own way. For all we know she spent the five months in fellowship with the ultimate parent. We don’t know how she might have prayed over her son and his life. We don’t know that possibly God was speaking to her heart.  We do know that she felt like God had finally blessed her. In verse 25 she says: “The Lord has done this for me,” she said. “In these days he has shown his favor and taken away my disgrace among the people.”

Elizabeth has chosen to praise God for what he has done for her. Even yet the babe is still in her womb and she doesn’t know the plan that God has for him.

