Bible Study · Faith

Why Easter Matters Week 1 Day 3

Day 3: Tuesday

Read: John 13:3-5; 14-15

3 [That] Jesus, knowing (fully aware) that the Father had put everything into His hands, and that He had come from God and was [now] returning to God,

4 Got up from supper, took off His garments, and taking a [servant’s] towel, He fastened it around His waist.

5 Then He poured water into the washbasin and began to wash the disciples’ feet and to wipe them with the [servant’s] towel with which He was girded.

14 If I then, your Lord and Teacher (Master), have washed your feet, you ought [it is your duty, you are under obligation, you owe it] to wash one another’s feet.

15 For I have given you this as an example, so that you should do [in your turn] what I have done to you.

 

S.O.A.P.: John 13:14-15

S.

If I then, your Lord and Teacher (Master), have washed your feet, you ought [it is your duty, you are under obligation, you owe it] to wash one another’s feet. For I have given you this as an example, so that you do [in your turn] what I have done to you.

O.

Jesus was being an example to the disciples on how to serve one another. He wanted them to be willing to do for one another what he did for them.

A.

We as Christians should strive to follow the example of Christ in our willingness to serve one another. Being willing to humble ourselves enough to not seek the limelight in order to serve our fellow man.

P.

Lord please help me to remember that its not about me. That this whole life is about you and what you have called us to do. Help me to never feel as if I am more important than others and help me to serve those around me as you would serve them.

 

To join in with the Why Easter Matters study head over to GoodMorningGirls.org.

