Faith · Ponderings

Frozen in Fear

 

Have you all seen the movie Frozen yet? If not you are missing such a wonderful movie. It is now one of my favorites. I have seen this movie twice already. It’s that good. It is one I will buy.

I was thinking about the two main characters, the sisters Anna and Elsa. As much as Frozen in Fear @DiannaAuton.commy husband says that I am most like Anna, I can’t help but relate to Elsa’s character. **Spoiler Alert. If you have not seen the movie you may not want to continue reading**

Elsa is a girl who lives every day in fear. She fears what the people will say if they found out about her powers. She fears disappointing her parents. She fears hurting Anna and others. I can totally relate to that, as I am sure many of you can. Fear can keep us from doing the things we love because of being afraid of what others might think of us or because we are afraid we will disappoint people or will not measure up.

Many times throughout my life I have allowed fear to hold me back from doing the very thing I wanted to do. Has fear ever kept you from doing something or saying something that you know you should have done or said? How have you dealt with fear in the past?

My favorite part of the movie is where Elsa’s power has been revealed and she runs up the mountain and breaks out into song. At this point she believes that she is free from the fear that binds her. She belts out the song “Let it Go” as she learns what she can do with this power that she has feared for so long. That song has become a favorite in our house.

Every time I think of the things that hold me back I start singing that song. I remind myself that I have to let go of what other’s think I’m supposed to do. I let go of the fact that I can not please everyone. I remind myself that the ONLY person I should be trying to please is God, not man. I let go of the worldly chains that bind me and I am free to live the life that God has called me to live.

This is a daily battle. Since we live in the real world we have to deal with people and the fears that cause us to second guess ourselves. But we don’t have to let fear control us. We can live free of fear. The Bible says in 2 Timothy 1:7 “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

As Elsa learned by the end of the movie the opposite of fear is love. She learned that she can’t live in fear of her power. She needed to embrace it and by using love she could turn things around.

We also must learn to live a life free of fear and instead live a life full of love for others. It’s love that should drive us to do the things we do, not the fear that the enemy so easily wants to entangle us with.

As I leave you today I want you to think about all the things that you have not done because of fear. I want you to set those things in the past and determine that you will never again allow fear to keep you from doing what God has called you to do. Look forward and go for it. Let go of all that is trying to hold you back. You CAN live a life free of fear.

