Bible Study · Faith

Loving Like Jesus Week 2 Luke 18

MemoryVerse-02

This week the one thing that jumped out at me the most was the very beginning of Luke 18. In verse 1 it says: “One day Jesus told his disciples a story to show that they should always pray and never give up.”  (emphasis added) He proceeds with the story and the story is about a woman who goes to a “corrupt” judge to seek justice against her enemy. The judge tries to ignore her but she keeps bugging him about it. In fact she bugged him so much so that finally he gave her what she wanted just to get her off his back. Jesus tells his disciples “… Learn a lesson from this unjust judge. Even he rendered a just decision in the end. So don’t you think God will surely give justice to his chosen people who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? I tell you he will grant justice to them quickly! But when the Son of Man how many will he find on the earth who have faith?” (Luke 18:6-8 NLT)

This reminded me of my kids. I have one who is extremely persistent. To the point that it can be very annoying. Much like this judge there has been times that I have finally given in to what she wanted in order to get her to leave me alone. I know we have all done it. If you’re a parent you know how this goes. I don’t give in to my children all the time but there have been times when I have. Well the Lord wants us to be persistent when dealing with the things in our lives. He wants us to continue to petition him day and night and NEVER give up on what we ask him for. This revelation made me look at my kids persistent petitioning a bit differently. I know that there have been times after praying for something that I have too easily given in when I didn’t see things happening right away, but we must not do that.  We must stand strong and pray without ceasing and never give up until we see our justice and our answer.

That goes hand in hand with the memory verse for the week, which was Luke 18:27 “He replied, “What is impossible from a human perspective is possible with God.” Even if the thing we are believing for seems impossible do not stop believing. Because, what looks impossible for us is like a piece of cake to our Father.

Isn’t God awesome?

Check out next week when I share about what I have learned from Luke 19.

