Homeschool Curriculum · Reviews

VocabularySpellingCity Review

 

I got the opportunity to try VocabularySpellingCity ‘s  VocabularySpellingCity Premium Membership in order to review it. At first I wasn’t so sure this was something that I would use but the more we tried it the more I realized that this is exactly the spelling/vocabulary program that might work the best for my kids. This site features: spelling games, vocabulary games, language arts games and printable sheets for writing practice as well as flash cards for learning the words that you are using. You can input your own word list or access lists that are already there.  It’s premium membership is $29.99 per year and that includes up to 5

students. This program is for kids in grades: K-12th grade. With the premium membership you get access to not only the free membership benefits but there is so much more that is offered as well such as: record keeping, customizable lists in order to meet each students needs, differentiated learning, accountability and vocabulary activities.

Some of the activities you can print out as well and you know which ones they are because they have the little printer icon next to the activity. Like these flash cards that you can print out for your students or you can use them online as well. There are fun matching games and typing games which not only helps the child to learn spelling skills but typing skills as well. And in today’s technological world it is a must to learn how to type properly.
The games and activities are very colorful so they will attract the attention of younger students as well as still be useful for the older ones as well. If you have a competitive child they may like the fact that the high scorers initials are shown as the high scores on the site and that may give them a goal to strive for and in turn make them much better spellers.
For the younger kids and/or struggling readers, I like that there is audio on all the games. The narrator reads the words/sentences and instructions aloud so that the student understands what they need to do. You can also mute this option if you would rather read it for yourselves.
As the teacher I also like that I can track my kids tests and scores and view them in my teacher homepage. I have not utilized this as of yet but I am planning on working on this in the next few weeks. I can also leave notes to my students via my page in case there is something I need to let my student know and they can access it on their homepage. I don’t know that I will use this feature since I am a homeschool mom but I may if I get busy. I know that is a feature that will work great for schools and homeschool moms or even co-ops that might use this system. I really like the thought and ease of use they put into this and my girls enjoy spelling when its fun. They make it fun.
I do like that there are lists already set up I just wish the lists could be accessed more by grade or spelling level than going through the local school lists. But it’s really not that big of a deal that I can’t use it. Just a preference on my part really. Overall I think it’s a great program and look forward to using it throughout the rest of our school year.

 

    

To see what other Crew members thought about this product click on the banner image below.

 Photobucket

