Faith

5 Lessons I Learned From My Dad Part 3

When I think about my dad, I think about all the lessons he taught me over time. And believe me between he and my mother I’ve learned a lot of lessons. But there a few that stand out more than others. In this series I am going to share some of those lessons that he taught me either directly or indirectly. I hope you will join me each week over the next 5 weeks as I share 5 lessons that I learned from my dad. To read Part 1 Click Here and to read Part 2 click here.

Lesson #3 Laugh

It’s so easy for me to say that my dad taught me to laugh. He was such a fun person. He loved to tease you and if he liked you, you would know because he did tease you. He has a great sense of humor and always tried to make things fun. My mom recently said “your dad could make me laugh like no one else.” That was so true. I guess that is why I love my husband so much, because in this aspect he is a lot like my dad. He can make me laugh like no one else.

Even when things would get difficult in life Dad would not let the situation steal his joy for life. He would find the good in people or the situation. He would find the positives because he told me once “life is to short to live it depressed”. I’ve really remembered it. It’s something that stuck with me for years. I do try to remember this but at times I forget. I have to remind myself that we need to laugh when things get tough. We need to find something to be thankful for and something to find joy in.

Every now and then if I feel like depression coming on I will try to watch something funny or read something funny to make myself laugh because when I do the depression goes and I’m left with a joy filled heart because I have been laughing so much. Proverbs says that laughter is like good medicine. Scientists and doctors have done studies on laughter and people who live a joyful life and found that those who laugh more often and are joyful live longer and have healthier lives. I believe that was one of the reasons my dad never got sick.

I know it seems like such a simple lesson but it’s a very important one. Learn to laugh. You will feel so much better when you do.

Thank you again for joining me even through my break. I hope you will continue to join me as I continue this series.

Join me again next week for part 4 of “5 Lessons I Learned From My Dad”.

5 Lessons I Learned From My Dad Part 1

5 Lessons I Learned From My Dad Part 2

5 Lessons I Learned From My Dad Part 3

5 Lessons I Learned From My Dad Part 4

5 Lessons I Learned From My Dad Part 5

