Books

“A Walk Through the Dark” Interview with Eva Piper

I received the opportunity to read Mrs. Piper’s brand new book releasing today called “A Walk Through The Dark”. And not only that but I also received the chance to interview her. If you can, please go pick up a copy of her book “A Walk Eva-Piper-BookThrough The Dark” available today at a book retailer near you. Also stick around and check out what Mrs. Piper has to say in our interview.

A2B: “First off I would like to say thank you for doing this interview. I actually finished reading your book and I must say it forced me to revisit some feelings of mine that I experienced going through during the recent cancer diagnosis and quick passing of my father. So even though I enjoyed the book it was very hard for me emotionally.

Mrs. Piper with all the emotional turmoil that you experienced during the time after Don’s accident what was it that inspired you to write your side of the story? “

Eva: “It took several years for me to come to the point of sharing my story. While Don always calls me the hero of the story I never felt heroic. In my opinion I did what needed to be done, with God by my side. But after years of hearing people ask me “How did you do it?” and “When are you going to write a book?” I decided it was a story people not only wanted but needed to hear. I often tell people “I don’t have all the answers but if what I learned can help someone I’m happy to share.” My prayer for A Walk Through the Dark has always been that God would use it to minister to those walking their own dark path. In addition I want people to realize they need to prepare for the unexpected. Those ideas are also a large part of A Walk Through the Dark”.

A2B: “Many times you mentioned how you internalized your feelings and thoughts. I also have an issue where I tend to keep my feelings to myself. I want to look brave to those around me and I want them to know I will be okay. I truly believe that, but, what advice would you give to me or someone else who is going through something similar on how to release their emotions while still allowing people to know that we truly believe it will all work out?”

Eva: “That is a battle I fought as well and still do at times. For me I found my release in prayer. Before Don’s accident prayer was part of my daily routine but it was very superficial and routine. When I sat beside Don in that cold, pre-op room the night of the accident, for the first time in my life I literally cried out to God. That cry started an entirely new level of communication with my heavenly Father. With Him I could let go and tell Him exactly how I felt, the fears, the anger, the frustration, the anxiety. He was always faithful to answer and soothe me. With His guidance I sought out two friends who I knew were strong prayer warriors. From time to time when I found myself about to explode I’d call and we would meet. I would share with them my feelings and they would listen. That was the key, I didn’t need someone to tell me I shouldn’t feel that way or tell me “It’s going to be alright. God is in control.” Their listening was a wonderful gift. Finally I began journaling. I had never done that before but I found in writing I could sort of my feelings, vent my anger so to speak. It was a release valve that helped me stay in control. Those things….honest prayer, listening friends, journaling really helped me.”

A2B: “You also wrote about Don’s depression and the reasons behind it. Did you also experience depression as well and if so how did you deal with it?”

Eva: “To be honest I don’t know. I did get down at times but I’m not sure it was depression. I took it upon myself to be strong not only for Don but for our children, our parents, our relatives and our friends. In some way that kept me focused. In my mind I couldn’t let them down. I was raised in a military home where my dad was gone for weeks at a time. During those years I watched my mother handle difficult situations by herself over and over. She taught me by example how to get things done and not fall apart. I realize not everyone can do that. I’ve known plenty of people who required additional help during times of crisis. I strongly encourage anyone who feels overwhelmed to talk with their clergy or professional if they feel things are too much for them.”

A2B: “What one piece of advice would you give to someone who is thrust into the role of caregiver of a loved one unexpectedly?”

Eva: “Don’t try to walk the path alone. Allow others to help, to minister to you. When you let other help it gives you the time to refresh and recharge so you can be at your best to help your loved one. Even little things like asking for snacks, reading materials or sitting with your loved one for a few minutes so you can take a break will make a huge difference in your ability to make critical decisions. You can’t care for your loved one if you don’t care for yourself and that means letting others help.”

Also, if you wouldn’t mind I have a couple friends who left me questions for you:

B. B. from Kentucky asks "What changes in your lives after this event was most revealing to you, your families and friends?"

Eva: “Anyone who knows us knows we are a close family. That was true before Don’s accident but now we realized how quickly life can change. Our children, now young adults, are extremely close, more so than most families I’m acquainted with. Nicole says it’s because for a long time they only had each other since Don was in the hospital and my focus was on caring for him. They are not resentful of that but it did affect them. As their mother I’m proud of their commitment to each other. I know if anything ever happened to either Don or I they have each other to lean on. We take the time to appreciate each other, to express our support and love. Our extended family and friends are well aware of this bond and rejoice in it with us. With Don’s experience in heaven we feel a strong need to share the reality of heaven with others and the way to get there. Our family here on earth is close but we all know the reunion is heaven will be even better.”

H. W. from Maryland asks " What advice would you give to a wife whose family is struggling with not learning the lessons that God has laid before them?"

Eva: “There is nothing as powerful as the prayer of a Godly woman. I’ve learned not to pray for the change in others but instead I pray for God to show me how to minister to them, to see them through the eyes of Christ. It is also important the family members observe her response to the lessons learned. More often than not people respond to other’s actions more than their words. If this wife shows through her day to day living she is trusting God and resting in the promises He has made, her family will take notice. It may take days, weeks, months, or years but God is faithful to answer.”

A2B: “Thank you again Mrs. Piper for allowing me this opportunity to interview you for the release of your new book. I pray that it touches the lives of those it reaches.”

Again for more information you can check out the Mrs. Piper’s website on where you can get your copy of her book “A Walk Through The Dark”.

Eva-Piper

About Eva Piper:

Eva Piper is a speaker and author with a unique insight into the trials of heartache and the triumph of overcoming. The wife of best-selling author Don Piper, Eva was the glue that held her broken husband and her family together. Don’s story, recounted in the New York Times bestseller, 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Life and Death, is Eva’s story too. A teacher of 34 years, she and Don now live in Pasadena, Texas. Visit http://evapiper.com/ to reserve your copy today!

 

 

 

 

 

*I received a free copy of the book in exchange for this post. No other compensation was received.

