Faith · Ponderings

The Power of the Tongue

The other day I was listening to my girls talk to each other and to no one in general. Some of the thing that they said were shocking to me. Not because they used bad language or said anything, necessarily, bad. It was just that there was a lot of complaining and negativity and I was thinking “where did they learn to talk that way?” The Lord told me.. “Listen to your words and those of your husband.” As I thought about some of the things that I had spoken over the past few weeks I saw where it all came from. I was shocked, because, by nature I’m not normally a negative person. Yet some of the stuff coming out of my mouth was.

The attitude that my children had towards one another also came from my husband and I. That revelation really hurt. Especially after spending an entire year focusing on love. The Lord, reminded me that my kids are going to copy what they hear and see we do. We must, as Christians, hold ourselves to a higher standard when it comes to what we say and the attitude we have towards others. We must be careful of our words and our attitudes towards one another. We must always be on guard of what comes out of our mouth. How are our children supposed to learn to think before speaking if we are not careful to do the same thing?

Our children learn from our deeds. If we learn to speak positively, speak the word of God and have a good attitude towards those around us then our kids will learn to do the same. We are their example. We are their role model. We must get ourselves right in order to teach our children the right way to speak and act.

We must ensure that we are speaking words of life, love and encouragement. The Bible says in Proverbs 18:21(NKJV) that “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eats its fruit.” The words we speak out of our mouth can speak either life or death. Which do you want your kids to hear you speak?

