Homeschool Curriculum · Reviews

Progeny Press Review

 photo 26018_10150154187290243_4120345_n_zpsd9393f12.jpg

I had the wonderful opportunity to try out Progeny Press’s Golden Goblet Study Guide for review.  Progeny Press has over 100 study guides for literature from Kindergarten all the way through High School. They concentrate  on teaching critical thinking, comprehension, literary analysis, and Christian application. Their goal is to teach kids to think clearly, understand literature and rely on God’s word for truth and values. They also want kids to enjoy it while  photo a64739f13876d7e650edf3_m_zps62f7a3c9.jpgthey are reading it. The prices of the study guides range from $4.99 and up depending on grade level and what all it contains. The cost for the Golden Goblet Study Guide is $16.99 as an instant download. You can order the CD ($16.99)  or the printed booklet ($18.99) as well.

I, myself, love how the study guide is set up. It’s very easy to follow the plan and print out what you need. I can use this for more than one kid as necessary.  This is a middle school level guide. The website puts the grade level at 7th – 9th grade but I believe even a 6th grader could use it. My 2nd grader would sit through the reading part of the story but she would do something else while my 6th and 7th grader worked on the study guide. We would read the book as a read aloud for everyone to listen too and then work on the study guide together (minus my 2nd grader).  We read a little bit each day and worked on the study guide after reading a couple chapters towards the end of the week.  I didn’t have to do a lot of prep work since I was reading the book along with the girls. Which is always very nice. 

Our Opinion:

I like the study guide very much, it really makes you think about what you’re reading and how the author writes. It makes you go places in your mind you haven’t really thought of before and makes you think outside the box, so to speak. One of my favorite things is it guides the students into areas they really would not have thought to go on their own and then later as they are reading something else they are able to comprehend and watch for little things throughout the story.  However, that said, my girls were not very happy with it and I believe that is only because they would have rather been reading something else. What I think we will do is go to the website and find one that is more interesting to my girls and I think they won’t drag their feet as much when it comes time for literature study.

Overall, bravo to Progeny Press. These study guides are put together very well and I look forward to using others in the future. 

 Photobucket  FTC Disclaimer

