Books · Homeschool · Homeschool Curriculum · Reviews

Abraham’s Journey Review

 

Photobucket

Recently my daughter and I got the opportunity to read and review Inspiring the American Dream‘s book PhotobucketAbraham’s Journey: A Celebration of the American Dream. This is a story of a boy named Abraham. The setting is the Great Recession and Abraham finds out that his parents just lost their jobs. Christmas is coming up and his parents are unable to buy gifts this year. So Abraham goes on a journey to try and find a way that he can make Christmas great for his family.

You can follow Abraham on his journey celebrating the American dream. 

This book is available in softcover for $14.99.

The age range for this book is 7-12. My oldest daughter, Geek Girl, read this book and she liked the story line. She felt the age range was appropriate and with the colorful pictures can see it appealing to the younger half of that age group more so than the older half.  She would have liked the story to go a bit deeper into Abraham’s journey with more character development.

We both liked that it introduced some historical characters that followed their goals to fulfill the American dream in their own lives. They helped to spur young Abraham on to find his own dream. I really liked that at the end of the book there are some short bio’s about the historical and modern day characters that were introduced to the kids in the book.

We incorporated this into our extracurricular reading list for my eldest daughter and it will also be used as a read aloud for my youngest daughter. My middle daughter will be reading it a bit later in the year as part of her extra reading.

In my over-all opinion I believe this is a great book about celebrating the American dream and it is a fun read.

 

Photobucket

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for
my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way.
All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with
the FTC Regulations.

2 thoughts on “Abraham’s Journey Review

Comments are closed.