Homeschool · Homeschool Curriculum

College Common Sense “Going to college and paying for it review

Photobucket

I had the opportunity to view and utilize  College Common Sense’s video series Going to College and Paying for it Online Video and Workbook. The cost for this product is $25 for the online video series and workbook. It gives you 12 month log in access to the site.

Here is a tidbit about the product from the website:

PhotobucketThe Going to College and Paying for It DVD and Workbook – The DVD is the heart of this program. It explains what you need to know in an easy-to-understand format to earn the most free money you can. The Workbook outlines exercises so you can see how it affects you specifically and helps you develop a plan of action that will benefit you the most.

 

This is a step by step process of how you can start working now, no matter what age range you are working with, on getting started finding those scholarship and financial aid programs for your kids college career. The video’s walk you through what you need to do and shows you what you and your child’s responsibilities are. You can’t just take for granted that these things will be told to you when its time for your child to go to college. This program is designed to be used for students of any age. Along with the DVD series and workbook you will receive weekly emails with lesson plans for your kids to do. These lesson plans are used to teach your kids how to make presentations, how to work together as a team, how to lead a group of peers in a research project, etc. These are foundational skills for every child to know and understand.

I used this with my oldest daughter, Geek Girl, who is currently in the 7th grade. Each week we received a lesson plan via email from the vendor. Each lesson plan contains one project for your child to do over the course of her school week. It is broken down by grade level (early elementary, elementary, middle school and high school). One of her favorite presentations and research projects that she worked on was researching her community and the history of it. Since we just moved here from another state this was a great asset not only to her but to us as well. She wrote a one page paper and we had her present it to us on the final evening of the week. The information she uncovered about our new location was very interesting. This program is helping her to learn to speak and give quality presentations in front of other people. It is also helping us to create a checklist so we can utilize and find other avenue’s of financial aid for her and her sister’s college career’s. 

I personally think this is a great program with a lot of information. I believe that you can never start too early when it comes to looking for college money. As a parent of three kids finding free financial aid is essential for our girls to go to college especially with rising college costs. I believe this will help anyone who is willing to utilize this information.

 

(I apologize for the lack of personal pics as we have been in a temporary location and I just have not had the ability to take as many pics as I normally do.)

Photobucket

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for
my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way.
All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with
the FTC Regulations.

2 thoughts on “College Common Sense “Going to college and paying for it review

  1. Isn’t it amazing all the resources out there for college financial help? My daughter is 18 and a senior and I wish we had this program years ago!

    Like

Comments are closed.