Bible Study · Faith · Ponderings

90 Days Through the Bible

AF02Recently I started doing a 90 days through the Bible reading plan on my YouVersion.com app on my Fire. I’m on day 16 of the plan. You basically are reading the Bible cover to cover in 3 months. It has been an eye opening experience. When you start at the beginning and work your way through it you read things you forgot about over time. It’s a nice time of re-familiarizing myself with the Word.

Over the last few days I’ve read about the exodus of the Israelites and their 40 year wanderings. I’ve read where they messed up and made mistakes and God has to literally wipe out sections of them because of their sin. I’ve read of their complaining ways after God has shown himself faithful to them over and over and over again.  After a while I wanted to say “what is wrong with you people? How many people have to die to get it through your heads that you need to be obedient to what the Lord tells you to do?” Of course its easy for me to say, right? I mean I know the end of the story. I know what is going to happen to them.

It really got me to thinking about myself and my own situations. How many times have I heard from the Lord and start towards that thing that he showed me and stuff happen. It takes longer than what I want it to. Things seem to come up to hinder me from getting there and I start whining and complaining about it. I mean I know what the goal is but I don’t always know how the way is going to go. I don’t know what things are going to pop up and hinder me from doing what needs to be done. Yet, I turn around and complain when in fact I need to stop complaining and just trust God’s directions and leadings. He knows better than I why I sometimes need to go through certain things.

I’ve been coming to realize that the Israelites time in the wilderness was not in vain. In fact God was weeding out the bad to make room for those who would do as he commanded. The same thing happens to us when we go through events and wonder why we aren’t getting there any faster than we wanted. God is weeding out the bad stuff in our lives to make room for all the good He is putting in us. To make room for Him.  By doing that He is making us into the people He wants us to be.

So, I’m not saying that I will always remember to stop complaining. I am human and will forget from time to time. However, I believe that I will not be nearly as whiney nor complaining nearly as much over it all because I know God’s got this.  There is a plan and there is a purpose and my timing is not His timing.

What has God been showing you lately?

2 thoughts on “90 Days Through the Bible

  1. Awesome that you are doing this! I did a 90 day plan a few years back. It was very challenging, but oh so worth it!! God has been showing me SO MUCH lately, especially: I’m not in control. Things are going to go wrong. Repeatedly. As always, HE will give us the strength and grace we need to get through. He is making me who he needs me to be!!

    Like

    1. exactly. I can’t seem to get enough of it either. I will read and not realize I actually have been reading more than I was “supposed to” for the day. But I am just eating it up. Things are standing out that I definitely have forgotten or don’t remember and I am loving seeing how he uses it to change me and reveal things about me. It’s so awesome!!!!

      Like

Comments are closed.