Homeschool · Reviews

The Old Schoolhouse Magazine a Review

TOS.

I wanted to share with you my opinion on The Old Schoolhouse Magazine.This months issue is full of great articles by fellow homeschool mom’s and dad’s that want to encourage others and help them. The special articles for The Old Schoolhouse Magazine November issue is an Amish series of which I enjoyed. Several articles on poetry and of course we can’t forget the awesome Haptoon.

I read a great article entitled “The Gift of ‘How to Learn’”. I found the article to be full of information that I really needed to hear.  It made me re-think the format of how we educate in our school. It really turned me on to unit studies and realize that this is the right form of teaching for our family. I have been debating this off and on for the past year and this was just confirmation for me to change my approach. I find that when we do unit studies together ALL my kids learn not just from the curriculum but from each other. It becomes more fun for us all.  Finding ways to teach my kids to love learning and how to find information on their own is a great gift. This article was a great encouragement to me in this area and beyond.

In the November issue you will find tips on how to include music frugally, finding free music downloads, and how to de-clutter for the holidays. There are also great articles on how to teach Godly character, incorporating poetry and music into your school and the great use of educational toys.

I enjoyed taking a look at A Day in the Life of a Young Amish Mom.  Having lived around an Amish community in Indiana for many years it was really interesting.  I learned a bit more about them through this article. It was a pleasure to read.

The magazine is jam packed with great information for every homeschool family, regardless of teaching/learning styles. There is something for everyone. Whether your approach is Charlotte Mason, unschooling or unit study, you will find lots of encouragement and ideas to help you. Even looking through the advertisements is a joy for me. There is always something new in there that my family and I might be interested in trying out.

This magazine is available FREE online and who doesn’t like free?

The Pros: There are tons of pro’s to The Old Schoolhouse Magazine. But this is the biggest pro for me. It has free apps for your phone or tablet so you can take it with you wherever you go.

The Cons: I really only have one con and depending on who you are it may not even be a con for you. I love holding a magazine in my hands so I miss the whole flipping the pages thing. However, it eliminates paper clutter so it can be viewed as a great thing.

Over all I will continue to read The Old Schoolhouse Magazine every month on my Kindle Fire.

This review was done for http://schoolhousereviewcrew.com/.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own and no other compensation was received. I am disclosing this in accordance with FTC regulations.

