Bible Study · Faith

1 Corinthians 13:3 Doing in Love

1 Corinthians 13:3 NLT

“If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would be of no value whatsoever.”

I was reading in my study Bible and I read the following notes in reference to the first 3 verses of 1 Corinthians 13.

Without love the most magnificent manifestation of gifts and the most heroic self-sacrifice mean nothing.

The Bible itself said that without love, the things we say and the things we do “have no value whatsoever”.

If you are doing these wonderful things but are not doing them out of love then all your good is for naughtID-10026490.

Matthew 6:1-2 tells us that those people who do good things just to be seen have already received their reward. What reward? To be seen. They just want people to recognize them.

Those that truly do things out of love do not seek recognition. They are not asking to be seen. A lot of times they don’t want people to know all the good they do. They would prefer not to have the attention at all.

Homework:

Continue to work on memorizing 1 Corinthians 13: 1-3. I also want you to pray and ask God to reveal to you if there is anything you are doing just to receive recognition. I want you to pray and ask God to change your heart. Ask God if there is someone he wants you to bless and do it out of love.

Matthew 6:1 NLT “Take Care! Don’t do your good deeds publicly, to be admired, because then you will lose the reward from your Father in heaven.”

 

Image: Freedigitialphotos.net

