Bible Study · Faith

1 Corinthians 13:2 Are You Nothing?

This week I want to look at 3 different translations of this verse.

NLT

If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I knew all the mysteries of the future and knew everything about everything, but didn’t love others, what good would I be? And if I had the gift of faith so that I could speak to a mountain and make it move, without love I would be no good to anybody.

AMP

And if I have prophetic powers (the gift of interpreting the divine will and purpose), and understand all the secret truths and mysteries and posses all knowledge, and if I have [sufficient] faith so that I can remove mountains but have not love (God’s love in me) I am nothing (a useless nobody).

MSG

If I speak God’s word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.

You can use your spiritual gifts to help others but if you don’t have love in your heart towards then, then are you really being a help to them? You will be no good to people if you do not love people.

You can be a great man or woman of God preaching to the lost, sharing the words of salvation, healing and miracles around the world. That’s all wonderful, but, do you love the people you are ministering to?

You can have so much faith and see God work through you performing miracles both big and small. But do you love those God has put into your life?

The Word here says that you can do all those things. You can even do them without love. But it also says that if you do not have love, you are nothing, worthless.

The New Oxford American Dictionary defines nothing as:

  • (pronoun) Not anything.
  • something of no importance or concern
  • no amount; zero
  • (adjective) Having no prospect of progress; of no value
  • (adverb) not at all

 

I don’t think I would want to be considered nothing, would you?

Today the who world is trying to be something. We all want to be recognized. No one wants to be nothing. But the Bible says right here in this verse that if we do not have love then we are nothing.

That is why it is so important to love those around us, not just our family and friends or those that are easy to love. But also, our enemies and those that do not make it easy to love.

Homework:

This week I want you to start memorizing 1 Corinthians chapter 13. Go back and start working on memorizing both verse 1 and 2 and once that is done you can move onto the next verse. You can continue to do this as we continue our study.

 

If you missed the previous posts, here are the links:

1 Corinthians 13:1

 

 

Image: Freedigitalphotos.net

