Faith

Love

Recently I was asked by a friend of mine to edit and read a Bible study guide that she is writing for a book study. The subject of the study is “love”. ID-10026490

While reading the Lord put a few things on my heart. He spoke to me that we should give love without regard of what we will get back. You see we shouldn’t love people just to receive love back. We should love people because that is what God commands of us.

John 13:34-35 (NLT)
So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.”

He also spoke that love is not a feeling it’s a verb, an action, something we must chose to do on a day to day basis. The concept of “falling in love” is not real. We can be attracted to people but that doesn’t mean we love them. Of course attraction is usually the first step in learning to love another person. But you can love strangers without knowing them by showing kindness to them or giving of yourself and time for them. That is love.

Another thing he showed me is that He not only commands us to love one another (those we are around and care about), But also our enemies as well.

Matthew 5:43-48
[ Teaching about Love for Enemies ] “You have heard the law that says, ‘Love your neighbor’ and hate your enemy. But I say, love your enemies! Pray for those who persecute you! In that way, you will be acting as true children of your Father in heaven. For he gives his sunlight to both the evil and the good, and he sends rain on the just and the unjust alike. …

This one is usually a harder concept to grasp. I mean seriously, who wants to love people that have hurt them or mistreated them? No one. But God commands that we do it anyway.

I have found that even though I have been hurt by someone and I choose to love them regardless and treat them as I would if they had not mistreated me that God heals my heart towards those people. It is not my job to change the other people’s heart towards me, that is God’s job. My job is to love them and pray for them.

Imagine how our world would look if we have more people following God’s commands to love even his enemy. Wouldn’t that be a better witness for our Heavenly Daddy than being rude, mean and bitter towards people?

Think about it and then pray about it. If there are people you are not loving because of how they treated you then you need to ask God to show you how to love them anyway.  1 Corinthians 13:13 says: “Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.”

I’m going to leave you today with some scripture. This is a good chapter to memorize. 1 Corinthians 13 is called the love chapter and it shows how what real love looks like.

13 If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. 3 If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it;[a] but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.

4 Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud 5 or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. 6 It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. 7 Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

8 Prophecy and speaking in unknown languages[b] and special knowledge will become useless. But love will last forever!9 Now our knowledge is partial and incomplete, and even the gift of prophecy reveals only part of the whole picture! 10 But when the time of perfection comes, these partial things will become useless.

11 When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child. But when I grew up, I put away childish things. 12 Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity.[c] All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.

13 Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.

 

 

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

