Family · Life · Parenting

Mom’s Influence

Sometimes I get so caught up in the things that need to be done on a daily basis that I don’t always take the time to enjoy the here and now. The last couple days I have had a chance to just enjoy the days. Enjoy the weekend with my husband and enjoy the first two days of the week with my in-laws. I didn’t do a thing and the kids and I had a great time. Image: Ambro / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

You know that saying that says you should “stop and smell the roses”. Well, its certainly true. We should take time to enjoy life. Why? For one thing if you don’t you will get burned out. No one likes dealing with a burned out you. I especially don’t like dealing with a burned out me. I’m not happy and then there is that saying that goes “if momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy”. (Please excuse my use of the word ain’t. lol) That is so true most of the time.

Mom’s we have a huge influence over our homes and the atmosphere that is in it. We can either have a good and happy home or we can choose not to. Not that life is perfect and things don’t go wrong but we have a choice in how we handle it.

I read a quote recently that said "The last of all human freedoms is the ability to choose one’s own attitude regardless of circumstances" – Viktor Frankl. All by itself it’s a great quote but what you may not know is that Viktor Frankl spent part of his life in a concentration camp during World War 2 because he was a Jew. Can you imagine the circumstances that he encountered? Yet he still said that he had the choice to choose what kind of attitude he had. Pretty intense huh?

So tell me what kind of atmosphere are we going to set in our homes today? I know I am going to choose to have a good attitude and do my best to enjoy my day and affect my household in a positive way.

