exercise · Life

“Anything Worth Doing…

…is going to be hard.” That is what I heard in my head the last few mornings when my alarm went off. You see I’ve been getting up early and walking. I’m also doing other exercises but I work up more of a sweat when I am walking. You see I am on a weight loss journey. It’s been hard because I’ve got a pretty good bunch of weight to lose. At least it seems that way to me. One of the reasons it seems like a lot to me is because I am “vertically challenged” lol. I’m just barely 5’2” and every pound looks like 10 when you live so close to the ground. Image: David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

This morning I laid in bed not wanting to get up when my alarm went off. But, that single statement encouraged me to get myself up and moving. You know what? That is true when it comes to pretty much anything in life that is worth doing. You are going to have to go through some hard times. However, if its something that you feel is worth doing then you are much more willing to actually get up and do it.

Once upon a time I was a teeny tiny girl. I wore a size 3 when I got married and even after my first two babies were born I lost the weight rather quickly. After my third baby I started to get lazy. I didn’t want to get up and do much of anything. It was my own fault. I didn’t eat right, nor did I exercise. I was so used to having a high metabolism that I ate anything I wanted and I can tell you I was a chocoholic. I also didn’t drink nearly as much water as I should have. I definitely wasn’t happy with myself.

Recently I decided that the only person who could change that is myself. So I cut out the caffeine and sodas. I do have a soda or a caramel mocha every now and then for a special treat, but, I don’t rely on it to get me through the day. I’m drinking WAY more water and eating less junk food and exercising tons more. I’ve so far lost 5 of the 43 pounds I need to lose to be my healthiest. Every time I lose a pound it encourages me to keep going. Clothes are getting looser on me and that just excites me. I know one day in the near future (this year) I will be down to a good healthy weight and size for me. I will feel better and be able to enjoy myself and keep up with my kids.

Do you have something you want to do but keep putting it off because it seems too hard?

