Faith

Journey Through Ephesians Week 3

Week 3 Ephesians 2:1-10

 1 Once you were dead because of your disobedience and your many sins. 2 You used to live in sin, just like the rest of the world, obeying the devil—the commander of the powers in the unseen world.[a] He is the spirit at work in the hearts of those who refuse to obey God. 3 All of us used to live that way, following the passionate desires and inclinations of our sinful nature. By our very nature we were subject to God’s anger, just like everyone else.

 4 But God is so rich in mercy, and he loved us so much, 5 that even though we were dead because of our sins, he gave us life when he raised Christ from the dead. (It is only by God’s grace that you have been saved!) 6 For he raised us from the dead along with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ Jesus. 7 So God can point to us in all future ages as examples of the incredible wealth of his grace and kindness toward us, as shown in all he has done for us who are united with Christ Jesus.

 8 God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. 9 Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it. 10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

 

This past week we read through the first 10 verses of chapter 2 of Ephesians. Here are a few points that stuck out to me.

  • We have all been born with a sin nature. (verses 1-3)
  • God has given us a gift of life. (verses 4-5)
  • We are an example of God’s grace and kindness. (verses 6-7)
  • It is not by our own actions that we have salvation but by his gracious gift. (verses 8-9)
  • We are God’s masterpiece he planned for us to do good things for Him. (verse 10)

 

We have all been born with a nature of sin, but when we accept Jesus Christ as our savior He has given us the tools to let go of that nature and become good. When we accept Jesus we have accepted God’s gift of salvation and eternal life. We can not have eternal life until we accept it. God’s grace and kindness are shown to us through this act of offering us salvation through His only son, Jesus Christ.

We can accept this free gift of salvation not by our works that we do but by allowing Jesus Christ to live in us and turn our hearts completely towards Him. I’m so glad that it’s not by my works that Christ has saved me. My works are certainly not worthy to receive this most precious gift. I have done nothing even remotely close to have salvation based on my actions. But God loves me anyways and has given me this gift freely. All I have to do is accept it.

I love how the NLT calls us God’s masterpiece in verse 10. God made us and designed each of us to do his good works. He designed each of us with unique talents and giftings so that we can further the kingdom. Its exciting.  I am so happy that he has made me to be the person I am to do the things He has called me to do and equipping me for it.

I know its not real “deep” revelation from this past week. These are just a few points from my notes. Things that just jumped out at me as I read each section.  I am just so thankful for God and His Son and the Word. I am so glad that he gives us His word so we can grow and know Him better. It is through His word that we build the relationship with Him that He so desires, along with prayer.

Have a wonderfully blessed day today, my sweet friends.

 

 

