Bible Study

Love one another

I’ve seen a picture going around Facebook lately. It’s one that I find quite disturbing. Here let me show you.

304025_10150855165575241_743390240_21136165_444347711_n

The first time I read it, I thought you know that is so true but then I re-read it and the Lord said to my spirit “That’s not how I am”. As Christians the Lord has called us to love one another. It says so in John 13:34 (NIV) “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” (emphasis added)

Is this how Christ wants us to be? Is this how He is with us? How many times have you turned your back on Him and yet He never gave up on you? How many times have you been the friend that did not make an effort to be a part of someone’s life but had a friend that did not give up on you?

Yes there are those who are “needy” or “high maintenance” friends. But you honestly don’t know what has gone on in their lives that make them that way. Maybe they just need someone to show them how to love and be a good friend in life. I know that there have been friendships in my own life that I did not maintain. Many times it was because I was immature and just didn’t know how. I have friendships in which we may not communicate at all for months at a time but it doesn’t mean that we don’t care for or think of each other. I have family that I don’t get to see or talk to as often as I like but it doesn’t mean that I like them or love them any less. Life happens. Time goes by but I love my friends and family and I pray for them.

I am so grateful that God is not like this. He has reserved a space in his heart for you and me regardless of whether we make an effort to love him back.

I’m going to leave you with one more verse. 1 Corinthians 13:13 (NIV) “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” (emphasis added)

