Around the House · Home · Meme's

Frugal Friday – Turn off the lights

We’ve heard it all our lives our parents reminding us to turn off the lights when we leave a room. Surprising enough this will actually cut down on your electric bill if you remember to turn lights off when they are not needed. Like when you leave a room make sure you flip the switch. If you have a lot of windows that bring in a lot of natural light there is no need to use a light. My girls bedroom is on the front of the house where the sun rises in the mornings and its really nice and bright, so during the day they don’t need to turn on the lights. In the afternoon and evenings the sun is on the back side of the house where my office is and then I don’t need to use the lights until dark. Our living room has nice big windows and allows a lot of light in the main rooms during the day and again I don’t need to turn on the lights until late afternoon and evenings. Again it will surprise you how doing a little thing can save you money on your energy bill.

2 thoughts on “Frugal Friday – Turn off the lights

  1. I couldn’t agree more!! I laugh as I say the phrase, “Close the door, we aren’t refrigerating the whole neighborhood.” Scary…. lol!! But it is such a money saving habit to get into!! Great great idea!Bless you!Amy

    Like

Comments are closed.